About Me

I always find it hard to write the "About Me" section.  I never really know what to say or what I think the readers want to read.  So I will begin with this.  I was born and raised in Mobile, Alabama.  I graduated from two Southern Baptist colleges, first with my undergrad and then my MBA.  Along the way, I got married to an Army officer who moved me to Fort Hood, Texas.  Through some unfortunate events, 4 years and 2 deployments later, we ended up divorced and I moved to Austin, Texas.  While at Fort Hood, I acquired my sweet little beagle boy, Maverick, who truly has been a great companion through it all.  Now I am happily remarried and embarking on the journey of wife and step mom and mom.  I recently found this quote about Southern Women and I think it fits me to a T so I will leave you with this:


"A southern girl is a girl who knows full and well that she can open a door for herself but prefers for the gentleman to do it because it demonstrates a sense of respect. After all, every girl wants to be treated like a princess. We know how to make sweet tea and grits while telling you everything about any football team in the SEC. We pick our battles and fight with the heart of a pit bull while still maintaining grace and elegance. Our mystique is that of a soft-spoken, mild-mannered southern bell who could direct an army, loves her momma and will always be daddy's little girl." ~ Cameran Eubanks


Random Facts About Me


  1. I was born and raised in Mobile, Alabama. I swore I would never leave but now that I have, I don't plan on going back.
  2. I graduated from two Southern Baptist colleges, one being all women.
  3. I have 3 degrees making me highly over educated and over qualified for most of the jobs I want.  But I don't consider myself smart. I just went to school a lot. 
  4. I decided to major in Business so I could open my own dance studio one day only to discover I was really good at accounting.  Now I have an MBA to go along with that major.
  5. I minored in Psychology in college. Originally I wanted to major in it because I was fascinated by how the human brain works but I couldn't figure out what I would do with that unless I went on to grad school. However, my minor wasn't declared until my final semester in college and then only because all the classes to finish my English minor were at the same time as my classes to finish my Business major.
  6. I can't do yard work at my house because I am allergic to grass so I have never even used a lawn mower nor do we own one.
  7. I am the youngest of three children, the only girl, and I was born two days before my mom's and two weeks after my dad's 36th birthdays.
  8. Jackson was born 9 days after my 34th birthday. We like keeping the birthdays close together in my family.
  9. My brothers are 11 years and 4 1/2 years older than me. The oldest was always like a second dad to me. The other one and I get along a lot better now that we both live in Texas away from the rest of our family.
  10. I was either a cheerleader or on dance team from the time I was in the 8th grade until my senior year in college.
  11. I collect cows. However, I have received so many ugly cows over the years that I stopped telling people because that was all I would get for gifts from friends. I still have a select few of my favorites in my house and would love to collect more of the Cow Parade cows.
  12. One of my hidden talents is my ability to untangle necklaces. I have been able to get the worst knots you have ever seen out of necklaces before. It requires a lot of patience which is very surprising for me.
  13. I always have to re-lace tennis shoes (or any shoes that lace) when I buy them because I have to have the laces criss-crossing the same way.
  14. Chris laughs at my anal retentive nature because I am always straightening and organizing things.  Nothing bugs me more than when something isn't in its designated spot. 
  15. I started dancing when I was 5 and danced in some form until I moved to Austin 4 years ago. I miss it everyday but cannot find time for it in my schedule. 
  16. I hate the color orange.  Every major rival Alabama has uses orange for one of its team colors.
  17. I hate, HATE touching paper after washing my hands so you will always see me rub on lotion as soon as I wash my hands.
  18. Getting divorced and moving off on my own meant I had to completely start my life over at age 30.  I felt like I lost my entire identity.
  19. I love to read but feel like I rarely have time to do it anymore. I feel guilty sitting and reading when other things need to be done around my house.